Random Sewing: The “Zombie Deschanel” Skirt

P1080786 copy
Fabric: Dear Stella Gridlock fabric $3
Pattern: Half-circle Skirt
Notions: Zipper $.50 button from stash
Time to complete: Maybe 4 hours
First worn: To Halloween party on Saturday
Wear again? I actually think I will
Total price: $3

I think only one person “got” my costume this year. Oh well. I had fun getting ready and wearing it. I even had themed nails like Zooey does. (Don’t laugh, I’m terrible at nail art!)
20131026_151649
I didn’t have a lot of time to think of something, and this popped into my head one day. We tried to think of an easy/recognizable Zombie hunter for my husband to be, but Rick Grimes would just look like a cop, and Ash Williams is kind of involved. So he ended up being Harry Potter…again (I made his robe, post to come).
P1080792 copy
So this is just a half-circle skirt. I like how it flares but isn’t as bulky as a full circle. I think I’m converted to halves over wholes. So much less hemming!!!
P1080788 copy
This fabric was actually intended for curtains in our old apartment. But after I did one window I realized how dizzying this print is, so I’ve been trying to think of other uses for the left overs. I think the print is sort of “Zooey in New Girl”-ish. Not so bad in small doses. I think I’ll actually wear it again.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Random Sewing: The “Zombie Deschanel” Skirt

  1. Vicki says:

    OMG, I love this so much! I’m totally going to steal this for work on Thursday because I couldn’t think of a lab safe costume. :)

  2. Loran says:

    Very cute! And your new house is lovely. I liked the bathroom photos you put on Instagram : )

Leave a Reply

