2013 Sewing Plan: The “Fitted By Gertie” Dress

P1080781 sized
2013 Sewing Plan: Project 7
Fabric:
Black gaberdine $7, lining $4 both from Fashion Fabrics Club
Pattern: Sultry Sheath from Gertie’s Book for Better Sewing
Year: 2012
Notions: Zip $.50
Time to complete: 8 hours of class, plus 5 hours to finish
First worn: To a work event last week.
Wear again? Oh yeah!
Total price: ~$11.50

Oops, it’s been a while. I began this dress almost a month ago and only finished last week. I’ve been doing some house sewing and Halloween sewing. Also, I got new glasses.

Anyway, in the essence of Selfish Sewing Week, or National Sewing Month I decided to take my first sewing class! The American Sewing Expo offers tons of classes and I decided to take Gertie’s class on retro dress making.
P1080774 copy
There was a lot of focus on getting the right fit, which was awesome because I’m such a noob at fitting (and sewing. I was the noobiest there by far, but everyone said they liked my dress a lot.) I didn’t have any major fitting issues, but it was great to see what other people had to do.
P1080777 copy
We also looked at construction methods like installing boning, gussets and horsehair braid.

And then Gertie tied my bow-tie blouse for me!
20130926_163249 copy
Anyway, back to the dress I made. I had to widen the arm scythe, sculpt the front bodice darts, take in the side seams of the skirt, and pinch out a tiny bit in the back by my shoulder blades.
P1080782 copy
I do have the hook and eye in at the top of the zipper but I didn’t latch it for the pictures. It was too cold outside!

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2013 Sewing Plan: The “Fitted By Gertie” Dress

  1. Joanne says:

    Looks great! If you were the noobiest noob, who else was in the class?!? Nancy Zieman? Kenneth King?

    • Sully Liz says:

      Lol basically! There were several women there with 40+ years of experience. Even the people closer to my age were over 15 years. But I did feel I could hold my own (at only 2 1/2 years experience) because basically all I do is garment sewing and lots of it.

Leave a Reply

