Sweet Treats in NYC

So I have a sweet-tooth. This is no secret. The past two times I went to New York for work I was dedicated to bringing home some French macarons because they are very hard to come by in the Mid-west. However, this trip I didn’t want to limit myself. Because, hello! Vacation! Eat anything and everything you want!!

Husband had a little tour of pizza places going on, while I was more fond of anything that looked pretty and had sugar in it. The first stop was L’Arte Del Gelato in the West Village.

Very cute shop, very good gelato. They have this Olive Oil flavor, which sounds soooo weird, but is actually pretty good. It works well with a chocolate partner. However, I got my tried-and-true coffee, with a butterscotch partner (caramel, butterscotch, chocolate, maple, etc. are my go-to pairings with coffee desserts).

Of course it was delicious.

A momentary pause in sweets was enjoyed the next day, at Mamoun’s Falafel near Washington Square Park. They are tiny, tiny, tiny but so delicious!

It’s also right next door to Caffe Reggio which I went to earlier this year. It’s a very cute/dark/old school cafe that is frequented by NYU students and such.

Sweets were resumed later that night at Popbar. It’s gelato on a stick and you can have it dipped and/or rolled in toppings.

I got coffee dipped in white chocolate, because that’s what I do.

So then we had a break from sweets for one day, but I made up for it in spades by scoping out a cupcake from Crumbs across from Bryant Park the last afternoon we were in town.

I got coffee toffee, because if you haven’t yet noticed, I’m a coffee-sweets fiend and there is no stopping the madness!! It was filled with some toffee…gel…mass of sugar…thing. Omg I thought I was going to die from the amount of sugar that was in this.

But I regret nothing. …However I did get a salad at the airport.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in Eating List and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

