Sewing Projects 30: The “Not Really My Color” Tunic


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Yellow
The Facts
Fabric: Yellow knit from mom’s estate sale loot, $0 to me!
Pattern: Inspired by Kazz’s famous sewing-in-the-square technique!
Year: Contemporary
Notions: Thread
Time to complete: 2 hours (Olympics coverage)
First worn: For pics
Wear again? Perchance
Total price: ~$0!!

I don’t usually go for yellow in large doses. Despite my use of yellow accessories two weeks ago, I have a known aversion to it in general. Orange too – despite my “On Trend” shorts attempt. I know other people that can totally make it work. Not me.

I knew that whatever I was going to make I probably wouldn’t wear much again. So I decided to go for something that a) didn’t cost me that much, and b) could be completed in a very short time. And thus I got to finally try out Kazz’s famous square sewing!

My mom found this huge length (5 yards maybe?) of Rayon knit at an estate sale last year for $1 (along with two Stretch & Sew patterns and some other fabric I’ve already used up). She said I could have as much of it as I wanted. I held on to it for a little while but ultimately passed it back to her because I didn’t have a plan for it either. So when this challenged popped up it was still there in her stash waiting for a use.

I found there were some flaws in the knit about 1 inch from the selvedge, but it had to be hemmed anyway so it wasn’t an issue really. I worry that it looks like a smock when unbelted. So I tried a few different RTW belts from my collection.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sewing Projects 30: The “Not Really My Color” Tunic

  1. I think the yellow really suits your skintone and hair colour! It looks great how you’ve added a belt and I love the design of it! XxxX http://thesecondhandrose.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a Reply

