Me Made May 2012 Final Thoughts

Photobucket
It’s June already, can you believe that? May was a bit of a crazy month for me and I have to admit I was a little disappointed in myself. I was all pumped and committed to wearing at least one me-made garment each day, but I have to be honest, I got burnt out pretty quickly.

I think I just choked under the pressure of paying such close attention to my wardrobe, and finding the right time/angle/light for a photo. I can handle getting polished up for the once a week photoshoot for Sew Weekly, but everyday did me in.

That’s not to say I failed at the challenge. I only “let myself off” on three days out of 31. When I went to NYC I was paranoid about getting bedbugs from the hotel so I only brought things I was comfortable leaving behind…or burning. And I’m actually trying to make up for that by extending my commitment into June.

Some things I’ve learned, that I actually already suspected, were that I need more me-made t-shirts, and more me-made pants. The weekends are mostly spent at home in various states of pyjama pants or jeans, and comfy tees. And I would have been better able to wear my RTW tops with me-made bottoms if I had some pants to throw in the rotation.

Does anyone else have a rotating “system” for their closets? For example; first, I have everything separated by pants, skirts, jackets, dresses, blouses. And after I’ve worn something it gets put back in the closet on the right-hand “end” of that garment section. Then I pick out outfits staying in the left-hand side – not that everything gets worn in the exact same order, I just pick from those things that have made their way to the “front” so I know some distance has been made between wearings. Anyway, after a challenge like this, this system lets me see that there are certain things I’m not wearing and keep skipping over. Sometimes it’s because I’m waiting for an accompanying garment to come back into rotation, other times it’s seasonal, but sometimes it’s because I actually should pull it out and mend or iron or otherwise “fix”.

Did you all make it through Me Made May 2012?

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Me Made May 2012 Final Thoughts

  1. Ya it was fun but not that much different from any other month XD I arrange my clothes by colour and type in my wardrobe and used stuff goes in the laundry bin (and re-emerges clean every fortnight) thus automatically spacing out the time between wears. I don’t know how you guys do the weekly thing, I signed up for it then went, um I don’t need the amount of clothes I’d generate if I sewed once a week so I’ll just do my own thing, take longer on each item and make stuff I’ll actually wear…

    • Sully Liz says:

      I always try to make something I’ll get use out of, I feel it’d be a waste if I didn’t really like it and made it anyway. We’re almost half-way through the year and I’m only *now* realizing how many new garments I’ve added to my closet! I don’t know what it’s going to look like by the time we’re done. I think I will try to sew more for my husband, even though he get nervous he won’t like it and hurt my feelings. I just want to try to see if I can. :)

      • You should totally do that! Start with t-shirt/ jersey stuff it’s more forgiving and so easy because guys’ clothes have no darts or details XD If it’s not awesome he can always wear it at home. Oh and if you do undies and aren’t just knocking off pre-existing ones (I’ve done a tute on that-it works!) Kwik Sew are quite good but super high!

  2. You know I should rotate but I end up living in my small collection of tanks and Ts at home. I don’t have a work dress code other than comfort and so forth (I’m a SAHM). And I don’t have enough me made stuff to participate in something like MMM – I am very impressed that anyone does and gets the daily outfits sorted enough to photograph them for a whole month. Many, only 3 days off out of 31 is darn impressive. :o)

    • Sully Liz says:

      Thanks! Yeah, having an outside commitment during the week is the only reason I get dressed in anything other than PJs or jeans. It’s also the only reason why I have a rotation system!

Leave a Reply

