Sew Weekly – HELP ME!


One of the up-coming SW challenges is inspiration from a city and I’m obsessing over the fact that I have no ideas whatsoever!!

That’s not entirely true. For various reasons I sort of “have” to do Sydney, Australia. But I desperately don’t want to look like Opera House Barbie. Seriously.

Am I the only sewist that doesn’t have this one sorted out already??

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sew Weekly – HELP ME!

  1. Trish Blair says:

    Hey! I am doing Sydney, but in my usual way I will get it a bit wrong probably! I might actually get myself out of the ‘burbs and down to the bridge for some photos. Maybe don’t take it so literally. You could just think about blues (sky and harbour), beige/golds – for the Sandstone lots of our historic buildings are built from. Good luck! I am hoping the fabric I need for the Stashbusting one arrives from the States in time!

    • ebarrett3 says:

      Thanks for the advice. I did think about blues, but also the purple of the jacarandas in bloom. And up until this moment I didn’t remember that I do have solid purple in my stash…hmmm. Anyway, I’m still stuck on shape/pattern. Shorts seem like a good idea because summer is coming, but what shorts are quintessentially Australian? Board shorts? Too casual for my current style. I just need to stop obsessing and something will come to me. :)

  2. zilredloh says:

    I have no idea what I’m going to do either! So you’re not alone.

    The only thing I could think of for Sydney is making a very geometric syled bodice with V-shapes like this: http://mccallpattern.mccall.com/m6350-products-14405.php?page_id=108
    or this: http://butterick.mccall.com/b5559-products-13452.php?page_id=155

  3. Trish Blair says:

    Yeah you could purple – but Jacarandas are not Australian native trees. Any shorts would do – I would include a hat in the ensemble cos in summer its too hot to go out without one!

  4. Pingback: Sewing Projects 13: The “Sydney Memories” Outfit | The Cataloguer

Leave a Reply

